All I know for sure about today…

Well, first things first, that picture isn’t entirely correct. I feel I know lots of things. I spent lots of years in study to learn the things I know today. I have learned social behaviours, I have learned how to be a good person and a good friend. I even learned how to run a global business. 

Today, I am not talking about the past. I am not talking about what I know up until today. Today, I am talking about the future.

Sure, I know what I would LIKE my future to look like. I know the things I have envisioned and the requests I have put out to the Universe. I have set my intentions and I am all good with what I FEEL my future will hold. But in reality, I know nothing.

It makes me really sad to see people post about that ‘Sunday night feeling’ or that ‘I hate Monday’ sentiment. I never again want to be in the position where I am dreading the next day, or the next week because I am way too grateful for my life right now. 

For anyone who knows me very well, they will know that Mondays are my absolute favourite! A day full of possibilities. I would be a complete liar and a hypocrite if I said this has always been the case because it hasn’t. For much too long I jumped on the bandwagon of feeling tortured by Monday and I was a walking negativity magnet.

This was until I spent some time and energy on personal development, on mindfulness and I what I gained was a whole heap of gratitude and a ton of perspective! 

I have also spoken to someone, very recently, about this very topic and it was him that I was thinking of this morning when I wrote this into my journal. My friend shared with me that he wished he could have one more Monday with his family member, who he lost a little while ago.  That one cuts like a knife, right?

For me, this spoke volumes. While I was complaining about Monday, there were people saying goodbye to loved ones, people breathing their last breath and people feeling like they just didn’t want to do this little thing we call life anymore. That, my friends is perspective.

So please, when you feel the words ‘i hate Monday’ coming out of your mouth or a negative thought enters your head, think of the people who would love another Monday like today.

The only thing we know for sure about today, is that we have no idea how this week is going to play out. However, I know with absolute certainty that we can control our thoughts, feelings and reactions towards our hurdles. 

So please, try your utmost to enjoy what’s left of today and see every new day as a new possibility, even if there is no lie in involved in the morning!! And if you don’t like what you do, change it! Life is way too short to be working a job that doesn’t serve you. There are other options, believe me, I was lucky enough to find one.

On a final note, has today really been so bad?

 

 

Leave a Reply

