Choose wisely

I read a quote recently which said, “Life is a theatre – invite your audience carefully”

This spoke volumes to me. Not everyone will fit into the front row of our lives and this is ok, we need to accept this and continue on with the show.

I received some world class training from my mentor recently and she simply said to me. “let it go, just learn to let it go” Since hearing this, I have pondered the turn of phrase and tried to implement it into my daily life. You know what i learned, you can reach new heights when you stop holding onto what doesn’t serve you. This correlates into relationships as well. Think of the people you see every day, or the people you spend most of your time with. Colleagues, housemate, spouse, friend, children. Pay attention to these relationships. Which of these people are encouraging you and showing you your true self? Which of these people are putting you down, disregarding your feelings or telling you that you are bonkers?

As you seek personal development and spiritual growth, you will find it easier to see the cracks in the paintwork of your relationships and you will find it easier to determine your front row in the theatre of your life. This doesn’t mean you can’t love the people in the circle too.

Jim Rohn said it best when he said,

“You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with”

This relates to the law of averages.

Entrepreneurs know all too well that in order to increase your wins, you must first increase your losses.

You cannot change the people around you but you certainly can change the people you choose to be around.

For me, I am hugely influenced by the people around me. They affect my self-esteem, the way I conduct myself and ultimately, they affect my decision making.

The people you spend the most time with can tear you down just as much as they can elevate you.

Ask yourself these questions.
1. What kind of person do I want to be?
2. Who are the five people I currently spend most time with?
3. Do these personalities match the type of person I want to become?
4. Who are the top five people I know of who embody the qualities I desire to have?
5. How can I increase contact with these people?

Leave a Reply

